Committees and their members serve a vital purpose in forming the direction of the Oregon Seed Association and promoting the cause of the organization:

  • Committees serve as a training ground for future association leaders.
  • Committees serve as a conduit through which the Board receives member input.
  • Committees enhance the effectiveness of the Board of Directors by providing research analysis and advice needed for policy decisions.

Get involved!

Committees are an important link between the members and the Board of Directors, but committees need members in order to be effective! Member input, involvement and participation is a must.

Please consider participating in the association process and volunteering to serve on one or more of the committees listed below. To sign up, contact the committee chair listed below, or Angie Smith, Executive Director,  at 503-685-7555 or

— Click here to get list of ADVISORY COMMITTEES & BOARDS —


If you have an issue that needs attention, please reach out to the appropriate committee chair below:

President: James Schneider, Barenbrug USA,
Vice President: Doug Pickles, Lewis Seed,
Secretary/Treasurer: JP Olson, Proseeds Marketing,
Executive Director: Angie Smith, Pac/West Communications,

Responsible for the overall strategic execution of the association. The past president works alongside the Executive Committee as an advisor.


Chair: Brenda Landis, Allied Seed,
Co-Chair: Dustin Withee, Smith Seed Services,
Subcommittees: GE Stewardship, Specialty Seed

Responsible for matters involving research, seed certification, seed testing, working with labs, and governmental and private regulatory and research organizations.


Chair: Lucas Solis, Pure Seed,
Co-Chair: Sean Chaney, DLF Pickseed

Responsible for OSA production surveys as well as collection of other relevant industry data deemed necessary by the Board.


Chair: Dustin Withee, Smith Seed Services,
Co-Chair: Stacy Kuenzi, Mountain View Seeds,

Shall advise the Board and the Association in all matter of freight, including rail, truck and ocean carriers.


Chair: JP Olson, Proseeds Marketing,
Co-Chair: Joe McAlhany, Jr., Nutrien Ag,

Shall advise the Board in all matters of legislation, federal or state, affecting the seed trade. Coordinate with association lobbyist and represent the OSA at the state Capitol with legislators.


Chair: Phill Lindgren, GO Seed,
Co-Chair: Doug Pickles, Lewis Seed,
Scholarship Chair: Dustin Withee, Smith Seed Services,
Associates Chair: Terri Burr, Pennington Seed,
EP Chair:

To promote OSA to schools, governments, other seed trades, young professionals and general public. Work closely with Associate members to maximize their value in being a part of the OSA.